First Aid - Do I stop and assist or turn a blind eye?

Looking for advise on hospitals, dentists and other health issues? Ask here.
wazza
udonmap.com

First Aid - Do I stop and assist or turn a blind eye?

Post by wazza » October 6, 2009, 8:16 pm

The EMT Thread had some interesting posts concerning , the medico legal aspects of rendering First Aid as a by stander etc.

I dont profess to be a lawyer at all, but would like to share my knowledge , views and experiences in this area.

The first thing to acknowledge is the location / country of the posters, as the laws will differ enormously.

Eg high litigation countries such as the US, Australia , will see many cases and laws that are applicable.

My background is within Australia, but also having international qualifications eg, ACLS, ITLS ( USA ) , BASICS ( UK ) and my previous intensive care paramedic quals from Oz.

In 1983? in Australia, Justice Badgery Parker handed down a decision on the intervention of licenced medical practioners, when they were requested to assist in a case of a patient suffering a seizure near a clinic, the Dr refused to attend, stating patient wasnt from his clinic and they called an ambulance .

Bottom line was the Dr was found negligent - and had a duty of care, due to the proximity of the patient.

That ruling can now be used within Australia, to make licenced practioners attend an incident even when off duty and requested to do so. So if your a nurse, paramedic, Doctor, or even an industial first aider, etc, you could be called to assist and refusal might lead to litigation.

What resulted in that was , Dr's dont carry equipment in their cars, cars not in their names, , so that the Ambulance chasers ( lawyers whose only concern is greed ) find it harder to prove a qualified / licenced person passed by the scene of their patient ( money spinner ) , didnt stop , therefore more pain and anguish !