Bringing Money to LOS to buy a house

This section is for general money matters, finance and investing.
mally
udonmap.com

Bringing Money to LOS to buy a house

Post by mally » March 11, 2008, 4:34 pm

Hi Guys,

I'll bet this has been discussed before, but I couldn't see it, so ,
I want to bring some money to LOS to purchase a house, and some furniture etc: so 3 things I need advice on.

1) What is the best way to bring £50,000 sterling into LOS, Before you go into too deep a system, remember that I am not a financial wizz kid, I am an electrician who knows just about everything about the 'unseen force', but NOTHING about the financial markets. The aim is of course to get the best exchange rate possible, with of course no risk to my hard earned cash.

2) I want to buy a place to live on my own (for now anyway), although I have a TGF I want to be free to spend time making sure before taking the plunge. Therefore I would like a way of purchasing without committing the house to the TGF, until I'm sure, & then I don't mind transferring it to her name (with the lease of course). Is it possible to buy house this way ?

3) Am I right in assuming that the rest of my cash is better off staying in the UK, transferring living costs over as I need them, if so what is the best way to transfer smaller amounts (say £500 each time).

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Mally

rickfarang
udonmap.com

Post by rickfarang » March 11, 2008, 5:04 pm

1. (How to get the money to Thailand.) Open a savings account at a bank in Thailand and have your bank in your home country wire it to your account. The bank in Thailand can give you the information that you will need to provide to yoru bank in your home country in order to make sure the money winds up in the correct account.

2. (Own land?) No. You cannot buy the land that a house sits on unless you are either a Thai person or your are a Thai company the majority of the shares of which, are owned by Thai people.