Leek & potato soup

Looking for a something in particular but don't know where to buy it? Try asking here...
Ant2
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by Ant2 » May 25, 2014, 8:39 pm

Like to make some Leek & potato soup but never see any western style Leeks for sale, only the Chinese jobs, taste different. Anybody know of the whereabouts of such an item. Thank you in anticipation of such soup next week.

the-monk
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by the-monk » May 25, 2014, 8:52 pm

Hi, I am no expert in LEEK but about 2 weeks ago, i saw some western style leek at an individual PROJECT STORE at Central Plaza. Good luck

martynsnowman
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by martynsnowman » May 25, 2014, 8:55 pm

also got them in TOPS packs of 3

Ant2
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by Ant2 » May 26, 2014, 9:29 am

Thanks for that chaps, must put my glasses on next time I go out to take a Leek

Shado
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by Shado » May 26, 2014, 10:20 am

..............never see any western style Leeks for sale, only the Chinese jobs, taste different.
I've regularly seen leeks in most of the major supermarkets as already noted, or at least I thought so. They tasted like leeks to me. What do the Chinese leeks look like? How do they differ from "western" leeks? Are they labeled as leeks and/or กระเทียมใบ (gra thiam bai)? I'm guessing the Chinese leeks must be smaller. Are they more like chives, spring onions or scallions?

Ant2
udonmap.com

Leek & potato soup

Post by Ant2 » May 26, 2014, 4:45 pm

Now Shado has said something. Went to Tops this morning as advised by Martynsnowman, saw & picked up a packet of Leeks or so I thought, read the label & it said Chinese Bunching Onions, asked lady if she Leeks, showed her the CBO & said same same but different, no she said.